• Facebook Maison Ousmane Sow
  • LinkedIn Maison Ousmane Sow
  • Google business Maison Ousmane Sow
  • Instagram Maison Ousmane Sow

Follow us

© 2019 Maison Ousmane Sow
info@maisonousmanesow.com
+221 77 557 14 96
Legale notice

  Biography  

1935 - 2016 

“When the Nuba burst onto the scene in the mid-80s, Ousmane Sow put the soul back into sculpture and Africa into the heart of Europe. These words from Emmanuel Daydé, co-curator with Béatrice Soulé of the Ousmane Sow exhibition on the Pont des Arts, say it all. 
 

His career as an artist was actually both short and meteoric. However, the dazzling artistic maturity evidenced in the works that he only agreed to exhibit for the first time at the age of fifty.- the Nuba. -undoubtedly owes much to his past as an anonymous and secret sculptor, who destroyed his every trace. They were immediately acclaimed and today they are emblematic of his work. Shown in 1987 at the Centre Culturel Français in Dakar, the Sitting Nuba and the Standing Nuba were then exhibited in 1992 at the Documenta de Kassel and, in 1995, at the Venice Biennale. 

They were followed by his three African series : The Masai, the Zulu and the Fulani. 

It was not till ten years later that Ousmane Sow began to create the Little Nuba series, considering that he had not yet completed the 1984 Nuba series and wishing to add more themes.  
 

Mostly, the artist sculpts men in action, thus making struggle the very metaphor and the location of his work. 

Determined to represent human kind, he works in series and focusses on the tribes of Africa and then of America. He draws inspiration equally from photography, the cinema, history and ethnology. 

 

In 1999, on the Pont des Arts in Paris, between the Louvre and the Académie, the African series, together with The Battle of the Little Big Horn, a recent creation, stood in all its glory. A major step in the recognition of his work, but also a proud moment for Africa, the country foremost in his mind when he accepted his induction into the Academy. 
 

How could Ousmane Sow have imagined that, fourteen years later, he would be crossing Quai de Conti to make his entrance into the Académie des Beaux-Arts ? And he would be the first Black to join that institution, the man who made his first sculptures in the Rebeuss primary school and whose first work was a tiny sailor carved in chalk and displayed on the school cupboard. From that moment, he never stopped sculpting, while, as an adult, practicing his profession as a physiotherapist and, at night or between patients, turning his various offices into a sculptor’s studio. And making animation films there with a hand-cranked Pathé camera using tiny animated sculptures. 

Until his death he remained obsessed by animated sculptures and he worked on them with a passion until the end, always focusing on the same face : that of the Mad Emperor. 

 

For his induction into the Académie des Beaux-Arts, fashion designer Azedine Alaïa presented him his own unique costume and Ousmane Sow himself created the sculpture for the pommel of his sword : the leap into the void, as a testimony to the day he decided to end his career as a physiotherapist to devote himself entirely to sculpture. 
 

Previously, he had sculpted the academician’s word pommel for Jean-Christophe Rufin, representing Colombe, the emblematic character of his novel Rouge Brésil. 
 

In the meantime, Ousmane Sow experimented with bronze casting, which become a passion and to which he discovered his own personal note with some highly colorful patinas. And so 
more than sixty bronzes, both large and small, saw the light of day. 
 

Five large bronzes are displayed in French cities : Besancon, Versailles, Angers, La Rochelle, and soon in Paris (Victor Hugo, General de Gaulle, Man and Child, Standing Warrior, Toussaint Couverture and hand to hand Wrestlers). Another (The Immigrant) is in Geneva and another in Rabat outside the Mohamed VI Museum (The Standing Warrior). The majority of these works form part of the series of great men entitled Thanks, which also includes Nelson Mandela and the artist’s own father, Moctar Sow. 
 

Another, older effigy of Toussaint Louverture was acquired by the Museum of African Art at the prestigious Smithsonian Institution in Washington.

• Facebook Maison Ousmane Sow
  • LinkedIn Maison Ousmane Sow
  • Google business Maison Ousmane Sow
  • Instagram Maison Ousmane Sow

Suivez-nous

© 2019 Maison Ousmane Sow
info@maisonousmanesow.com
+221 77 557 14 96
Mentions légales

 Biographie 

1935 - 2016 

« Avec l’irruption de ses Nouba au milieu des années 80, Ousmane Sow replace l’âme au corps de la sculpture, et l’Afrique au coeur de l’Europe ». Tout est dit dans ces mots d’Emmanuel Daydé, co-commissaire avec Béatrice Soulé de l’exposition d’Ousmane Sow sur le pont des Arts à Paris

Sa carrière d’artiste fut en effet aussi courte que fulgurante. Mais sans doute doit-on à son passé de sculpteur anonyme et secret, dont il détruisit toute trace, l’éclatante maturité artistique dont firent preuve les oeuvres qu’il n’accepta de montrer pour la première fois qu’à l’âge de cinquante ans : les Nouba. Elles furent aussitôt reconnues et sont aujourd’hui emblématiques de son travail. Présentés en 1987 au Centre Culturel Français de Dakar, le Nouba assis et le Nouba debout sont exposés dès 1992 à la Documenta de Kassel, et en 1995 à la Biennale de Venise. 

Suivra la naissance de trois séries africaines : les Masaï, les Zoulou, et les Peulh

C’est seulement dix ans plus tard qu’Ousmane Sow entreprend la création de la série Petits Nouba, estimant n’avoir pas abouti la série Nouba de 1984 et souhaitant y ajouter quelques thèmes. 
 

Sculptant la plupart du temps des hommes en action, l’artiste fait de la lutte la métaphore et le lieu même de son travail. 

S’attachant à représenter l’homme, il travaille par séries et s’intéresse aux ethnies d’Afrique puis d’Amérique, et puise son inspiration aussi bien dans la photographie que dans le cinéma, l’histoire ou l’ethnologie. 

 

En 1999, à Paris, sur le Pont des Arts, entre le Louvre et l’Académie, s’installent en majesté les séries africaines, mais aussi la Bataille de Little Big Horn qui vient de naître. Un acte fort pour la reconnaissance de son oeuvre, mais aussi une fierté pour l’Afrique, ce continent auquel il pense en acceptant la proposition d’entrer sous la Coupole. 
 

Comment Ousmane Sow aurait-il pu imaginer alors que, quatorze ans plus tard, il traverserait le Quai Conti pour faire son entrée à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts ? Et qu’il serait le premier noir à intégrer cette institution, lui qui fit ses début en sculpture à l’école primaire de Rebeuss, et dont la première oeuvre fut celle d’un petit marin taillé dans du calcaire et exposée sur l’armoire de l’école. Il ne cessa de sculpter depuis, tout en pratiquant à l’âge adulte son métier de kinésithérapeute, transformant, la nuit ou entre deux clients, ses cabinets successifs en ateliers de sculpture. Y réalisant des films d’animation, avec une caméra Pathé à manivelle, à partir de petites sculptures animées. 

Il restera hanté jusqu’à son décès par ces sculptures animées sur lesquelles il travaillait les derniers temps avec passion, tournant toujours autour du même visage, celui de l’Empereur fou

 

Pour son intronisation à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts, le couturier Azedine Alaïa lui offre la création de son costume, et Ousmane Sow réalise lui même la sculpture du pommeau de son épée : le saut dans le vide, en mémoire du jour où il décida d’arrêter son métier de kinésithérapeute  pour se consacrer entièrement à la sculpture. 
 

Il avait auparavant sculpté le pommeau de l’épée d’académicien de Jean-Christophe Rufin, représentant Colombe, personnage emblématique de son roman Rouge Brésil. 
 

Entre temps, Ousmane Sow s’essaye à la réalisation de bronzes, qui finit par le passionner, et pour lesquels il trouve une signature personnelle à travers leurs patines parfois très colorées. Plus de soixante bronzes, grands et petits, virent ainsi le jour. 
 

Cinq grands bronzes sont installés en France, à Besançon, à Versailles, à Angers, à La Rochelle, bientôt à Paris (Victor Hugo, Le Général de Gaulle, L’homme et l’enfant, Le Guerrier debout, Toussaint Louverture, Couple de lutteurs corps à corps), l’un est installé à Genève (L’Immigré) et un autre à Rabat devant le Musée Mohamed VI (Le guerrier debout), premier bronze dans l’espace public sur le continent africain. Certains font partie de la série des grands hommes, intitulée Merci, qui compte en son sein également Nelson Mandela et le propre père de l’artiste, Moctar Sow
 

Une autre et plus ancienne effigie de Toussaint Louverture a été acquise par le Museum of African Art de la prestigieuse institution du Smithsonian à Washington.